You are here

Jury Panel Announced For The First BAFTA Breakthrough China

5 September 2019

Lee Schuneman, Angelica Cheung and Janet Wu, among those appointed to propel China’s most promising new talent

London & Shanghai, 5 September 2019: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), in partnership with Yu Holdings, announces a nine-member jury panel for the first BAFTA Breakthrough China programme. The high-profile jury is composed of industry experts and key opinion leaders in China and the UK, who are tasked with selecting up to five promising talents among the applications received across China to join the organisation’s flagship new talent initiative.  

Lee Schuneman, a two-time BAFTA winner heads up the Jury which met on 4 September at The Peninsula Shanghai, the official hotel partner for the BAFTA Breakthrough China programme, to identify emerging talents in film, games and television. The winners will take part in a year-long mentoring and guidance programme, which seeks to build and support their careers and develop their international network. The winners will also receive invitations to attend events in both the UK and China, where they will have opportunities to meet their peers, share their expertise, and be mentored by industry practitioners.

This year’s BAFTA Breakthrough China winners will be announced in October.

“Based in Shanghai for the last 18 months and working hands-on with fantastic Chinese talent in software, design and entertainment has given me a valuable insight into the quality and depth of the creative industries in games, television and film across Greater China. Having been involved with BAFTA Breakthrough since it was founded in 2013, sitting on the different committees and juries, it is a privilege to chair the jury for the very first Breakthrough China initiative. This is a unique opportunity for BAFTA to bring together the Chinese and UK creative communities and enables me to continue with my strong belief and passion to help expand opportunities and growth for all creative talent across the world.” said Lee Schuneman, Jury Chair of Breakthrough China.

A global supporter of promising new talent, BAFTA announced the BAFTA Breakthrough China initiative at the Shanghai International Film Festival in June 2019. BAFTA Breakthrough China is the first international version of the highly successful Breakthrough Brits initiative, which debuted in 2013 and has since brought over 100 emerging British talents to global attention. Previous Breakthrough Brits include actors Letitia Wright (Black Panther and Black Mirror) and Tom Holland (Spider-Man: Homecoming), and games producer Dan Gray (Monument Valley).

BAFTA Breakthrough China is held in partnership with Yu Holdings and supported by official partners The Peninsula Hotels and Champagne Taittinger.

Full list of jurors for BAFTA Breakthrough China 2019 (in alphabetical order):

Lee Schuneman (Jury Chair)

Angelica Cheung – Editor in Chief, Vogue China

Ethan Wang – Vice President and Head of Game Publishing, NetEase

Janet Wu – CEO, Wutianming Foundation

Ke Ding – Head of Contents and Formats, Sales & Development, China

Sum Huang – Co-founder, XG Entertainment

Vivi Xiao – General Manager, Tencent Timi Studio

Wendy Yu – Founder and CEO, Yu Holdings

Xiaohui Wang – Chief Content Officer, iQIYI


For further information, please contact:

Grace Li at CatchOn
T: [email protected] 

E: +86 021 6227 0575