You are here

Attendees confirmed for the 25th British Academy Cymru Awards

23 September 2016
The Arqiva British Academy TV Awards in 2013BAFTA/Richard Kendall

We have today revealed the names of some of the nominees, presenters and other special guest attendees for this Sunday’s British Academy Cymru Awards, which is taking place at the St David’s Hall in Cardiff, Wales.  

Stars of the big and small screen are set to attend the 25th BAFTA Cymru ceremony, which honours excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales, and will be joined by a host of famous faces from across the worlds of theatre, music and sport.

DJ and presenter Huw Stephens returns to host the ceremony for a second time, at which the stars of Welsh-made television dramas Hinterland, Gwaith Cartref, Byw Celwydd and feature film The Library Suicides will attend, some of which are nominated for multiple BAFTA Cymru awards this year.

Those expected to grace the red carpet include, but are not limited to, BAFTA-winning comedian and actor Michael Palin, BAFTA-nominated comedian Terry Jones, BAFTA-winning make up artist Siân Grigg, BAFTA Cymru-winning presenter and adventurer Lowri Morgan, Game of Thrones actor Robert Pugh (2012 recipient of Sian Phillips Award), Raised by Wolves' Alexa Davies, Jacob Ifan, Richard Elis, Spencer Wilding, Ffion Dafis and comedian Elis James.

Presenters and other attendees confirmed to date include actress Catrin Stewart, who won Best Performance in a British Feature Film at Edinburgh Film Festival this year for her role in The Library Suicides/Y Llyfrgell.

To celebrate 10 years of Torchwood, actors Gareth David Lloyd and Naoko Mori will be in attendance as will BAFTA Cymru Chair and presenter, Angharad Mair, of Tinopolis.

Previous BAFTA Cymru winners Eve Myles, who is currently on our screens in Victoria, Sara Lloyd Gregory and Sian Phillips will also be in attendance.

The evening's entertainment will be provided on stage by Kizzy Crawford.
A Welsh speaker with Bajan heritage, 19 year-old Kizzy Crawford's solo career began just two years ago;  and, during the drinks reception, by Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama performers, The Miroshnichenko Band.

The ceremony will be produced for the second time by David Mahoney, who is best known for his work as a producer of live music events including the recent City of the Unexpected celebration in Cardiff, various television programmes and as a member of Classical Brit Award winning vocal ensemble, Only Men Aloud. 

The event will be streamed live on the BAFTA Cymru website,, as made possible by the event's sponsors Gorilla Post Production. 

21 programme, craft and performance categories feature in the 25th annual British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales during the period 1 April 2015 and 31 March 2016.

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and industry professionals at this year’s awards.

Awards tickets are still available for the Champagne reception, ceremony and after party priced at £90, which include a limited-edition Awards brochure and offers for local bars and clubs.

Tickets can be purchased from the St David’s Hall Box Office
029 20 878444 / St Davids Hall

British Academy Cymru Awards sponsors

AB Acoustics
Aberystwyth University
BBC Cymru Wales
Buzz Magazine
Capital Law
Cardiff & Vale College
Cardiff Wales Airport
Da Mhile Gin
DW Design
Glyndwr University
Holiday Inn Express
Hotel Chocolat
Ken Picton
Mad Dog Casting
Minuteman Press
Premiere Travel
Princes Gate
Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
St David's Hotel
Sugar Creative
University of South Wales
University of Wales Trinity Saint David
Villa Maria
Working Word