You are here

Television Awards Entry Guidelines

Scroll down the page for all information or select from the headings below to jump to specific sections.

Television Awards Rule Book:

Please download the British Academy Television Awards Rule Book 2012/13 (197.6 KB) for a full list of categories, entry information and the rules for the 2013 Awards.

Entry Overview:

An entry can be made to either the Film Awards or the Television and/or Television Craft Awards. If an entry receives its first exhibition as a public, paid-entry cinema screening then it should be entered for the Film Awards. If an entry receives its first exhibition as a TV broadcast then is should be entered for the Television and/or Television Craft Awards.

If an entry is released into cinemas and on television on the same day, then it will be eligible for either the Television and/or Television Craft Awards or the Film Awards, but not both.

For the Film Awards, there is a further specification that a film should be over 60 minutes long and have a theatrical run of at least seven consecutive days. If an entry of over 60 minutes has a theatrical release of fewer than seven consecutive days before its television broadcast, then it will be eligible for the Television and/or Television Craft Awards, but not for the Film Awards.

Programmes that have previously had a theatrical release and then re-cut for television are ineligible unless a significant amount of new material has been shot specifically for the television broadcast.

Back to top


Entries are invited from cable, satellite and terrestrial broadcasters and independent production companies. All programmes (and performances) in contention must have had their original transmission in the UK between 16 February 2012 - 31 December 2012.

Entries for the production categories can be submitted directly by producers (both broadcasters and independent companies) at a cost of £295 plus VAT per entry.

Entries for the performance categories can be entered by performers themselves or broadcasters/production companies and are free of charge.

No programme previously entered in BAFTA's Children's or Film Awards is eligible for the Television Awards

Back to top

Performance Categories:

Performers should be entered in accordance to their lead or supporting role in the programme aired during the eligibility period. Please note the performance categories do not incur any entry fees. They are free of charge.

Back to top

Production Categories:

Entries for the production categories can be submitted directly by producers (both broadcasters and independent companies) at a cost of £295 + VAT per entry.

Back to top

Campaigning Guidelines

BAFTA is delighted to be able to offer all entrants the opportunity to make their programmes available for BAFTA Members to view online.

This service is open to all entrants and therefore replaces the previous campaigning options. This service allows BAFTA members to re-watch the television programmes ahead of the online voting in January 2013.

Programmes may be uploaded from Thursday 4 October 2012 through to Friday 14 December 2012. The programmes will then be available for the voting members to stream or download ahead of the online voting, for more details on the security of this please read BAFTA Digital Rights Management (110.3 KB) .

BAFTA LOGOS: You may only use the BAFTA logo in print and broadcast once you have received a nomination. Logos and permission agreements will be provided by the Academy before the nominations are announced, for advance artwork preparation, but may only be used if the programme receives a nomination.

The Academy kindly invites broadcasters and producers to respect these rules and regulations. Any broadcasters or production companies abusing this facility will forfeit their right to access the Membership.

Back to top

Voting Procedure For Production & Performance Categories:

The TV voting constituency of the Academy casts its votes online, for all those programmes entered according to the criteria above.

Those programmes and performances which have attracted the most votes from the Academy membership are then put up for further scrutiny by category juries specially selected by the Academy Television committee.

Each jury, which consists of nine individuals (with a quorum of seven) aims to be balanced in age, sex, experience, ethnicity and in broadcasting allegiances, with a track record of achievement in the genre and with no direct association with a short-listed programme. It must also comprise a mix of related skills such as writers, producers, directors, actors.

These juries decide upon the four nominations and the winner within the principal production and performance categories of the Awards.

Back to top

Awards In The Gift Of Council:

Suggested recipients of the Gift of Council awards for outstanding contribution are put forward by the Academy's Television committee for consideration by the Academy's Council. These are:

  • The Special Award in honour of Dennis Potter
  • The Special Award in honour of Alan Clarke
  • The Special Award in honour of Richard Dimbleby

There are no nominations for these awards, nor are they voted for by the Academy membership. The number of Gift of Council awards presented each year is at the discretion of the Academy.

See the Full list of Special Award Recipients

Back to top

The Academy Fellowship

This is the highest accolade the Academy can bestow on an individual and is presented to those within the television industry who have made an outstanding contribution to the industry within their lifetime. Previous TV winners include Bruce Forsythe, Bill Cotton, John Schlesinger, Morecambe & Wise, John Thaw, Peter Bazalgette, Sir David Frost, Ken Loach, Melvyn (Lord) Bragg and Sir Trevor MacDonald.

See the full list of BAFTA Fellows.

Back to top

For further information see: BAFTA Television Awards Information

Official Scrutineers: Deloitte LLP