You are here

BAFTA New York 2017 Scholarship Breakfast

25 September 2017
Anqi Wang, Xiaoyu Yang, Shannon Ryan, Karina Robledo, Khaula Malik, Shannan Shaughnessy, Erika Gregorio, Julia Fitzgerald, Kevin Wilson, Tukei Peter MuhumuzaBAFTA/Dmitry Zhukov

On September 19, 2017, BAFTA New York announced the 2017 Media Studies Scholarship recipients at a breakfast in New York City.  BAFTA New York Chairman, Luke Parker Bowles, and Vice-Chair, Arianna Bocco, introduced the event and spoke about the ongoing success of both the Program and its Scholars.

This year’s Scholars are Julia Fitzgerald, Erika Gregorio and Karina Robledo (Brooklyn College), Xiaoyu Yang and Anqi Wang (City College of New York), Khaula Malik, Shannan Shaughnessy and Shannon Ryan (Feirstein Graduate School of Cinema, Brooklyn College) and Tukei Peter Muhumuza and Kevin Wilson (NYU Tisch School of the Arts). The Scholars come from as far afield as China, East Africa and Peru and as close to home as New York City.

University representatives attending included Miguel Macias, Dr. Katherine Fry and Ernesto Mora from Brooklyn College, Andrea Weiss and Jerry Carlson from City College of New York, and Andrew Uriarte from NYU Tisch School of the Arts.

Scholarship sponsors attending were Devin Johnson and Susanna Diallo (BBC America), Charles Tremayne and Caroline Grist (The John Grist Documentary Scholarship), Donald Taffner Jr. (The Taffner Family Charitable Trust), Jeff Cotugno (DLT Entertainment), Elizabeth Stephenson, Liz Massie, Lorna Thomas, Jessica Horowitz and Annie Mangone (Discovery Communications), and Doug Schwalbe (DreamWorks Animation). Michele Spitz (Woman of Her Word) and HBO (Quentin Schaffer and Dennis Williams) were unable to attend, but extended their congratulations to the Scholars.

The 2017 scholars were able to meet their sponsors and BAFTA New York Outreach and Scholarship Selection Committee, Board Members management and Committee members, all while enjoying a fabulous breakfast.  We were also delighted to welcome two scholars from last year – Sidnei Afari and Veronica Austin.