You are here

Edith Bowman and Dermot O'Leary to Host EE British Academy Film Awards Red Carpet Live Programme

13 February 2018
Event: EE British Academy Film AwardsDate: Sun 12th February 2017Venue: Royal Albert Hall, LondonHost: Stephen Fry-Area: BRANDING & SET UPBAFTA/Guy Levy

Red carpet live programme to be broadcast globally from 17.00 GMT on the official BAFTA Facebook and Twitter channels

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) and EE have announced that Edith Bowman and Dermot O’Leary will host the official red carpet live programme for the EE British Academy Film Awards.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall on 18 February at 17.00 GMT, Edith and Dermot will welcome guests to the red carpet for a night celebrating the very best in British and international cinema. The red carpet programme will be broadcast globally on BAFTA’s Facebook (/BAFTA), Twitter (@BAFTA / #EEBAFTAs) and via EE’s Facebook page (/EE), with highlights also shown on the BBC One ceremony programme.

The EE British Academy Film Awards ceremony, hosted by Joanna Lumley, will be broadcast exclusively on BBC One and BBC One HD from 21.00 GMT. The ceremony is also broadcast in all major territories around the world.

At 23.00, following the ceremony broadcast on BBC One, a new programme hosted by Edith Bowman and broadcast globally on BAFTA’s Twitter (@BAFTA / #EEBAFTAs) will take viewers backstage for a series of exclusive interviews with the winners and unseen backstage moments. Viewers will also be able to enjoy post-ceremony highlights via the official BAFTA channels.

Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Executive of BAFTA, said: “We are delighted to be working with Edith and Dermot, and to extend the invite to people around the world to join us to celebrate the awards. We’re excited to reach new audiences and share the experience through all of our channels.”

On the night, will feature red carpet highlights, photography and winners interviews, as well as dedicated coverage on its social networks including Facebook (/BAFTA), Twitter (@BAFTA / #EEBAFTAs), Snapchat (BAFTA) and Instagram.

Voting closes for the EE Rising Star Award on Friday 16 February at 12.00.  This year’s nominees are Timothée Chalamet, Josh O’Connor, Daniel Kaluuya, Florence Pugh and Tessa Thompson. Visit to cast your vote.

For further information, please contact:
David Bryan at freuds
T: 020 3003 6356
E: [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit