You are here

British Academy Television Craft Awards: Winners Announced

26 April 2015
Event: British Academy Television Craft AwardsDate: Sunday 26 April 2015Venue: The BreweryHost: Stephen Mangan-Area: CEREMONYBAFTA/Stephen Butler

The winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards have been announced at the ceremony hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 26 April 2015.

  • Penny Dreadful Wins Three BAFTAs
  • Two BAFTAs For Sherlock
  • Mackenzie Crook Receives Career-First BAFTA
  • Hilary Briegel Honoured with the Special Award

London, 26 April 2015: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the winners of tonight’s British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes talent in British television of 2014. The ceremony was hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, City of London for the third year running where presenters included Peter Firth, Edith Bowman, Iwan Rheon, Doon Mackichan and Jo Malone.

Supernatural horror series Penny Dreadful received three BAFTAs for its portrayal of a murky Victorian London, with wins in Production Design, Make Up & Hair Design, and Original Music forAbel Korzeniowski.

Sherlock picked up two BAFTAs: one for Sound: Fiction and the other for Editing: Fiction. This brings the tally of BAFTA wins for Mark Gatiss’ and Steven Moffat’s incarnation of the Baker Street detective to nine in four years.

Sally Wainwright cemented her status as one of the UK’s foremost writers, receiving a BAFTA in Writer: Drama for her rural police thriller, Happy Valley. In the Writer: Comedy category,Mackenzie Crook prevailed over strong competition to win the first BAFTA of his career for Detectorists, in which he also stars alongside Toby Jones. Marvellous, also starring Toby Jones, is the fantasy-biopic of the extraordinary Neil Baldwin, for which Julian Farino received the Director: Fiction award.

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry with its Breakthrough Talent category, won this year by Marc Williamson for The Last Chance School, an intimate portrait of three students at the Muntham House School for boys with emotional and behavioural difficulties. Williamson was also named a BAFTA Breakthrough Brit in 2014 and continues his rise as one of the UK’s most exciting new filmmakers.

There were BAFTAs for two of the nation’s great loves, football and singing, with a win in Director: Multi-Camera for Paul McNamara for the 2014 FA Cup Final and a nod for The X Factor in Entertainment Craft Team, making it a seventh BAFTA win for the talent contest phenomenon.

2014 was yet another outstanding year for factual programming, highlighting our domestic industry’s talent for compelling, human stories. The BAFTA for Editing: Factual was won by Jake Martin for Grayson Perry: Who Are You? and the BAFTA for Sound: Factual went to Messiah at the Foundling Hospital. The BAFTAs for Director: Factual and Photography: Factual went to Dan Reed for The Paedophile Hunter and Marcel Mettelsiefen for Children on the Frontline (Dispatches) respectively. Both programmes are nominated in the upcoming House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards on Sunday 10 May.

The BAFTA for Photography & Lighting: Fiction went to Mike Eley for The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies starring Jason Watkins, while Phoebe de Gaye picked up the BAFTA in Costume Design for The Musketeers.

In the category’s inaugral year, the BAFTA for Titles & Graphic Identity went to Winter Olympics 2014. Doctor Who was successful in the Special, Visual & Graphic Effects category, while Live from Space: Online was deemed out of this world, receiving the BAFTA for Digital Creativity.

Hilary Briegel, the industry-renowned vision mixer, was presented with the BAFTA Special Award at the ceremony for her extensive work across a diverse range of productions including Absolutely Fabulous, Only Fools and Horses, Newsnight, the Wimbledon Championships and the Olympic Games.

BAFTA has a year-round programme of events and initiatives that support the television industry. Many of this year’s nominees took part in yesterday’s BAFTA TV Craft: The Sessions, where they discussed their work with students and emerging talent. Other activity in the programme includes BAFTA Crew – the skills development and networking scheme for film and television crew – scholarships, the BAFTA Television Lecture, Breakthrough Brits, industry workshops, and on-stage interviews and debates.

The Radio Times Audience Award will be presented at the House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards on 10 May. Cilla, EastEnders, Game of Thrones, The Great British Bake Off, The Missing, Sherlock and Strictly Come Dancing are all nominated for the publicly-voted award. Voting is now open at

Exclusive red carpet highlights, backstage interviews with the winners, ceremony highlights and photography will be published after the ceremony at

For further information, please contact:

Dan Maynard / Nick Baxter


T: 0203 003 6649 / 658

E: [email protected] / [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – featuring workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes – in the UK, USA and Asia; it offers unique access to the world’s most inspiring talent and connects with a global audience of all ages and backgrounds. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. To access the best creative minds in film, television and games production, visit For more, visit