You are here

Presenters Announced for 18th Annual 2009 BAFTA/LA Britannia Awards

Los Angeles, CA, October 19, 2009 -- The British Academy of Film and Television Arts/Los Angeles (BAFTA/LA) has announced that Amy Adams, Benicio del Toro, Minnie Driver, Ewan McGregor and Dev Patel will be among the presenters at the 18th Annual BAFTA/LA Britannia Awards on Thursday, November 5, 2008 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.

As previously announced, Kirk Douglas will be honored with the Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution to Filmed Entertainment; Robert De Niro is receiving the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film; Colin Firth with the BAFTA/LA Humanitarian Award; Emily Blunt with the Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year, and Danny Boyle with the John Schlesinger Britannia Award for Artistic Excellence in Directing.

Golden Globe and BAFTA nominated actor and writer Stephen Fry will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

BAFTA/LA's outreach programs benefit members and other professionals working within the entertainment industry, as well as the Los Angeles community at large. BAFTA/LA provides exclusive access to screenings, Q&A's with talent and filmmakers, conversations with leading UK-based film and television executives, and the Heritage Archive, featuring broadcast-quality interviews with distinguished British members of the film and television industries. Educational outreach for students and the Los Angeles community includes an after-school screening program for inner-city youth at the Helen Keller Park Recreation Center, and a recent partnership with FilmAid to mentor young filmmakers. Additional programs include seminars in association with local universities and festivals, scholarships for post-graduate programs, and recognizing professional and student talent with awards at film festivals throughout the U.S.

Maintaining a long tradition of recognizing the finest filmmaking and television talent, BAFTA/LA hosts a series of social networking events, including the Annual BAFTA/LA Britannia Awards, the BAFTA Film Awards Brunch, the Annual Garden Party, the BAFTA/LA Comedy Awards, and the Awards Season Film and Television Tea Parties in January and September. BAFTA/LA is affiliated with BAFTA in London, and members vote annually for the prestigious BAFTA Film Awards. BAFTA/LA also presents its annual Britannia Awards every November, where it has honored such luminaries as Denzel Washington, Clint Eastwood, Tom Cruise, Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren, Elizabeth Taylor, Michael Caine, and Martin Scorsese with the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film.

For more information on BAFTA/LA, visit baftala