You are here

Student Film Awards 2012: Finalists Announced

6 June 2012

The 2012 BAFTA Los Angeles Student Film Awards will take place on Wednesday June 20, 2012, featuring 7 finalists from some of the best film schools in the world.

See the work of the next generation of great filmmakers from some of the best film schools in the world and meet them beforehand at our filmmakers reception.

Entrants to this year’s event come from AFI, USC, UCLA, LMU, Chapman, LA Film School, CSUN, CalArts, Loyola Marymount, Occidental, Columbia Hollywood, LA City College, Santa Monica College and Inner-City Filmmakers.

The 2012 nominees are Julio Ramos (“Una Carrerita, Doctor,” UCLA), Kyle Soehngen (“Come Back to Me,” AFI), John Dion (“Cupid,” USC), Janine Sides (“Jody's Bra,” USC), Vanessa Knutsen (“The Promised Land,” UCLA), Jacob Braafladt (“Shadowplay,” LMU) and Ryan Latchmansingh (“Where the Sun Sets,” LMU).

"Each year, we are blown away by the quality of the films submitted, and this year is no exception,” said Neil Stiles, Chairman BAFTA Los Angeles. “The creativity and talent among this group of emerging filmmakers is outstanding, and we are proud to be recognizing their work at what has become an important annual event for BAFTA Los Angeles."

Out of the 31 entrants from schools across Southern California, we will screen the 7 finalists selected by a jury of BAFTA Los Angeles Members. Following the screenings, we will ask Voting Members in attendance to vote for the recipient of the 2012 BAFTA Los Angeles Student Film Award.

Wednesday June 20, 2012
Los Angeles Film School Theater, Hollywood
7:00pm Reception
7:30pm Screening
9:30pm Awards Presentation

Members can learn more and RSVP by clicking HERE.

Speedy RSVP is recommended as this event fills up very quickly.

If you have not joined us at this event before, it is always an enjoyable evening and an impressive example of the future of creativity in our industry. We urge you to attend and support our local community outreach projects.