You are here

Children's Eligibility & Judging


  • The Children’s Awards are for content specifically designed for audiences under the age of 16.
  • Television programmes must have had their first transmission in the UK between 1 July 2012 and 30 June 2013 on terrestrial, cable, satellite or digital channels.
  • Web-based entries must have been available online between 1 July 2012 and 30 June 2013. You may not resubmit an entry from previous years unless it can be demonstrated that there are significant new levels of technology or innovation.
  • Films must have had their first theatrical screening in the UK between 1 August 2012 and 31 July 2013.
  • Games must have had their original release in the UK between 1 August 2012 and 31 July 2013.
  • Programmes, Films and Games that have been submitted into previous Children’s Awards ceremonies are not eligible.
  • Editorial initiative and control must reside with the UK producer, broadcaster or developer in all cases except in the following categories: Feature Film, International and Game.


  • The relevant voting constituency of the Academy casts its votes for all those programmes entered according to the aforementioned criteria.
  • Those programmes which have attracted the most votes from the Academy membership are then put up for further scrutiny by category juries, specially selected by the Academy's Children's Committee.
  • Each jury aims to be balanced in age, sex, experience, ethnicity and in broadcasting allegiances, with a track record of achievement in the genre and with no direct association with a short-listed programme, feature film, website or video game.
  • These juries decide upon the four nominations and the winner of the Awards.


  • Suggested recipients of the gift of council Special Award for outstanding contribution are put forward by the Academy's Children's Committee for consideration by the Academy's Council.
  • There are no nominations for these awards, nor are they voted for by the Academy membership. The Gift of Council award is presented at the discretion of the Academy.

Official Scrutineers: Deloitte LLP